Manchester United News

All the latest news from the Champions

I’m Not The Player I Used To Be – Scholes

Posted by Keano! on May 24, 2009

Paul Scholes has claimed that he doesn’t feel worthy of a place in the team for the Champions League final coming up. Scholes who hasn’t featured as prominently as he did in previous seasons believes that there is no room for sentiment and Sir Alex should send out a team without him in it to face the Catalans.

The Englishman, retired from International duties has said through The Sun that he’d be happier to start on the bench out of ability and form, then play from the first whistle out of sentiment. Scholes who doesn’t often make an appearance in the media had this honest and very respectable interview which began,

“I don’t seem to get forward as much as I used to. And I don’t have the goal scoring chances that I used to, which is frustrating,” said Scholes.

“It bothers me, of course it does. I want to contribute as much as I can and there is no bigger way than scoring goals. The manager doesn’t put pressure on to score goals. He never did, I was just lucky enough to have that in my game.”

The 34 year-old who will surely go down as a Manchester United legend has said he may consider hanging up his boots next at the end of next season, as the physical demands of the game are getting bigger every season for him,

“I will have to see how I am next year. If I feel I can go on again, I will do,” he added. “If not, then I won’t.

“It is more a physical thing than a mental thing, definitely – if your legs aren’t doing what your body wants them to do. To be honest, I do feel a bit like that some days. I don’t really want to go on more than I should do.

“Yeah, it’s an adjustment you don’t like – not playing every week. You don’t like it. You train all week and you want to play games. You think there is a time when you have to accept you won’t play every week especially with the quality of midfielders we have.

“You just have to make sure you are ready yourself when the manager wants you to play. What ambitions do I have left? To get back in the team. I still want to be involved.”

Scholes who retired from the International scene earlier then most expected has been performing well for United over he last few seasons, even coming back from an eye injury which some believed may put an end to the midfielders career at the highest level.

When asked if he thought he’d play in Rome and face the likes of Andreas Iniesta, Xavi, Yaya Toure and more, Scholsey said,

“I don’t think many people will think I will be starting after not playing in either of the semi-finals or against [Manchester] City,” continued Scholes

“The manager hasn’t said anything about my chances of playing. I’m not frustrated by that. There are a lot of players who want to play the game.

“I am no different. I don’t think he picked me last year just because I had missed out 10 years before. I think he genuinely wanted me to play. I don’t think anyone wants to play through sentiment, you want to play because of your ability.”

Lat season, Scholes featured in the final in Moscow, after being told by Sir Alex a week or so before the game that he would start after missing out on the final in ‘99 through suspension. Scholes who played an instrumental part in Cristiano Ronaldo’s opening goal to give United the lead was substituted but collected a second winners medal late into the Moscow night.

Paul who grew up supporting his local club, Oldham Athletic, has been tipped by some to play with his boyhood team for a year or maybe a little less when he feels his time is up at United. He remains coy on the issue and admitted he would give management a go when he does finish his playing career.

“As for playing for Oldham, I don’t know. You just never know what is at the end of the road, do you?

“Management? Maybe lower down. I don’t know. I think I will take the coaching course first and see if I can adapt to it.”

Feel free to comment below

One Response to “I’m Not The Player I Used To Be – Scholes”

  1. IAmAHoopForever said

    What a legend.

Leave a Reply

 
