Manchester United News

All the latest news from the Champions

Scholes Has One More Year

Posted by Keano! on May 26, 2009

Manchester United veteran, Paul Scholes, has claimed that next year may well be his last season with United. The ginger haired midfielder has been a long servant to the club but with niggling injuries creeping into his routine and irregular appearances on the pitch, Scholes feels that his career has come to an end and he will more then likely finish next season.

After recovering from a serious eye problem a few seasons back, Scholes has since won the Champions League as well as a few leagues and he may well lift another Champions League honour on Wednesday.

Speaking to the Daily Telegraph, Paul said,

"I’ve had a knee injury this season. I seem to get a three-month knee injury every season now. It sets you back and I haven’t contributed as much as I would have liked to have done. I get pain in my knees most days and I definitely feel my age.

"The eye problem is still there but I have become totally used to it now and that’s not an issue," he said. "But I’ve dipped in and out of the team this season and really struggled, to be honest, playing one game every 10 days.

"Some people adapt to that and some enjoy it but I don’t think it has worked for me. It’s hard to keep yourself fit when you don’t play every week."

Paul is tipped to go into management when he does call time on his playing days and he backed that view up again,

"I wouldn’t rule out management. Let’s see how the coaching goes first but I would like to be a manager one day.

"Whether I am or not, I don’t know but I think I could put up with the demands that it brings. I want to spend more time with the family first, though, because this year has been worse than ever in terms of being away."

Scholes has scored some massive goals for United in his time at the club, including a screamer against Barcelona in the Champions League semi-final last season and a certain volley from a David Beckham corner at Bradford City back some time ago. I think that was one of his good hits alright…

Feel free to comment

Leave a Reply

 
